I Like That Very Small Feeling

The Really Big TreeWalking in the really big trees along my favorite path in the woods, I get a really small feeling. I like that feeling. It’s the feeling that my God is really BIG, so the bigger the tree the better.

Walking up to those trees, too big to get my arms around (it would take a couple of friends), just brings out in me the awe and wonder of something strong and mighty. I sit down against a mighty tree in a hallowed out spot between its massive reaching roots.  It’s a cozy feeling. It’s a feeling of unmovable lasting strength. Looking up I see those massive outstretched arms providing shelter from the unpredictable world. They are like the mighty arms of God wrapping me up as His child into His everlasting arms offering security and comfort.

In the raging conflicts of this world around us, it’s a wonderful thing to be secured in the mighty arms of the heavenly Father. The really big trees are created by God himself, who allowed a tree to be used to sacrifice His son to save the world from its sin. It is a symbol of the security of a loving almighty God. “Come to me all who are weary and heavily burdened by the troubles of life, I will lift your burden and make it light” So says the Creator of the really big trees.

With a strong hand, and with an outstretched arm, His mercy endures forever. Psalm 136:12 (NKJV)

About the Ordinary Hiker

A Christian camp director for many years, I enjoy ministry and being outdoors. I refer to God's creative wonder as the testimony of creation, a special place where God brings His word to life. Its where I like to be and where God speaks in His gentle voice in the awe of His creative work.
This entry was posted in Inspired by creation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Like That Very Small Feeling

  1. Nice pics and articles

  2. jantala says:

    I adore trees and i too am in awe of them. There are trees around me that are hundreds of years old and i marvel at their perseverance through the ages.

  3. jantala says:

    I know!! I noticed the coincidence too. Mine is a tree in Wales though.

Leave a Reply

