Summer Camp Speaker’s Prayer

Summer begins this weekend. Its the beginning of the summer camp season. Best season of the year. Kids come out to camp to enjoy the outdoors and hear about the message of the creator who takes a special interest in  their lives.

I was asked a couple of years ago to be a summer camp speaker. Switching from camp director to camp speaker challenged me, but rewarded me in special ways. This summer I have the opportunity to go to four camps and speak to four very different groups. The expectation of God creating in me a message to glorify His name and then experience it all coming together is a joy for which I really have no description .

This weekend I start with a family camp. My first as speaker. Again a new experience in this role. Ministry excites my soul in this wonderful opportunity to bring God’s Word to life. I wrote this prayer out last winter. Its been my guide and accountability in preparation for summer ministry and for opportunities given to me before now. You’re welcome to pray along with me. I count it a sacred privilege to have you join me in this ministry.

Dear Lord, prepare my heart, engage my mind to deliver your message, using your words spoken by my lips in the leading of your Spirit. Transform the lives you wish to touch with your grace. I need you to preserve me for this mission so that I may minister with a blameless heart. Thank you precious Savior, my Lord and friend. May your name be glorified. Amen

My blogging will be sure to slow down. It already has. But I’ll have new inspiration for future post, especially for the camping ministry that is so special to me. Keep Looking up everyone!

About the Ordinary Hiker

A Christian camp director for many years, I enjoy ministry and being outdoors. I refer to God's creative wonder as the testimony of creation, a special place where God brings His word to life. Its where I like to be and where God speaks in His gentle voice in the awe of His creative work.
This entry was posted in Program and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Camp Speaker’s Prayer

  1. Dave says:

    I will be praying for you and your ministry!

Leave a Reply

